What We Do

Every state and state-integrated school in New Zealand has a Board of Trustees that governs it.
The Board of Trustees is a Crown entity.  A Crown entity is an organisation that is part of New Zealand's public sector.

The board's job is to see that everything that needs to be done gets done - legally, ethically, and as well as possible in the best interests of its students.  It is also the employer of all staff, including the Rector, and sets the overall strategic direction for the school.  The Rector is the board's 'Chief Executive' and manages the school in line with the board's direction and policies.

Our Board comprises:

  • five trustees elected from the community
  • the Rector
  • a staff-elected representative
  • a student representative 
  • co-opted trustees as the need arises

For further information on the role of the Board, please visit: MOE: Your School Board of Trustees.

BOT Membership

Peter Stayt (Chairperson, Parent Representative)

Jason Grant (Deputy Chairperson, Parent Representative, Old Boys' Rep)

Adam Blake (Parent Representative)

David Forman (Co-opted)

Jill Harland (Staff Representative)

Brent Isbister (Parent Representative)

Sina Latu (Co-opted)

Nick Light (Parent Representative)

Jason Power (Co-opted)

Dave Thorp (Rector)

Connor Guthrie (Student Representative)

Carolyn Bunting (Board Secretary)


Jason Grant: Chair of Hostel Committee

Lynley Mackenzie: Thomas House Parent Representative

Nick Light: Chair of Property Committee

Brent Isbister: Chair of Finance Committee 

Contact us

If you wish to contact a Board member, please email Carolyn Bunting on:

School Policies and Procedures

Timaru Boys' High School Policies and Procedures are available to our school community via the following link:

 Username: timaruboys

Password: this has been emailed to our parent community.  For further information, contact the Board Secretary on 03 687 7560 or email

Annual Accounts

The 2020 Consolidated Group Annual Report is available here.