Board of Trustees

What We Do

Every state and state-integrated school in New Zealand has a Board of Trustees that governs it.
The Board of Trustees is a Crown entity.  A Crown entity is an organisation that is part of New Zealand's public sector.

The board's job is to see that everything that needs to be done gets done - legally, ethically, and as well as possible in the best interests of its students.  It is also the employer of all staff, including the Rector, and sets the overall strategic direction for the school.  The Rector is the board's 'Chief Executive' and manages the school in line with the board's direction and policies.

Our Board comprises:

  • five trustees elected from the community
  • the Rector
  • a staff-elected representative
  • a student representative 
  • co-opted trustees as the need arises

For further information on the role of the Board, please visit: MOE: Your School Board of Trustees.


BOT Membership

Peter Stayt (Chairperson, Parent Representative)

Di Hay (Deputy Chairperson, Parent Representative)

Virginia Callaghan (Parent Representative)

Shane Edwards (Parent Representative)

David Forman (Co-opted)

Michael Howard (Staff Representative)

Warren Leslie (Co-opted, Old Boys’ Representative)

Nick Light (Co-opted)

Nick McIvor (Rector)

William Urquhart (Student Representative)

Bernadine Reynolds (Parent Representative)

Jane Sullivan (Selected Parent Representative)

Carolyn Bunting (Board Secretary)



Shane Edwards - Chair of Hostel Committee

Lynley Mackenzie - Thomas House Parent Representative

Peter Stayt - Chair of Property Committee

Bernadine Reynolds - Chair of Finance Committee 

Contact us

If you wish to contact a Board member, please email Carolyn Bunting on:

Annual Accounts

The 2016 Annual Accounts are available here.